Film Technique notes

film-technique

As promised, I’m posting the notes I took while reading this wonderful book on cinematic language. It was published in 1958, however a lot of the theories mentioned in the book were developed by Pudovkin and Kuleshov in the 20’s. The notes I took are quite dense, however I still urge everyone who is truly serious about making films to read the actual book. I have learned so much, it’s a Pandora’s Box of cinematic language. Next up I’m taking on the writings of either Kuleshov or Andre Bazin – both have affected the language of cinema to a great extent.

stanley.kubrick


“The most influential book I read at that time was Pudovkin’s Film Technique. It is a very simple unpretentious book that illuminates rather than embroiders. It certainly makes it clear that film cutting is the one and only aspect of films that is unique and unrelated to any other art form. I found this book much more important than the complex writings of Eisenstein.” – Stanley Kubrick


FILM TECHNIQUE notes
FILM TECHNIQUE book


9 thoughts on “Film Technique notes

    • you’re most certainly welcome – I’d urge to read the book itself for the examples and in depth descriptions Pudovkin goes into. The notes though are a nice, quick reference guide whenever one wants to refresh the concepts in their head.

  1. Great job, what’s funny is that I did go to film school and was never introduced to Pudovkin’s Film Technique. It’s been a good read (sometimes it’s nice just reading something that you already know but did not put words to).

    • What film school was it? If it was one of the big ones – I’d be surprised a great deal. I think the only good thing about going to film school is shooting films with other kids, unless you go to a really good film school – but then you’ll be stuck with a 100k+ of debt for the rest of your life until you make your first film a huge hit. lol. And those are rare.

      I think that teaching yourself film you have more control – because you rely on your love for it and if you’re truly passionate you’ll find every resource you NEED to learn it.

      • It’s true, when younger aspiring filmmakers ask me about film school now, I tell them that with such amazing cheaper gear, it’s better that they spend their money making a film than getting themselves into mountain loads of debt. At the time, it was the best way to get my hands on good equipment.

        I went to Ithaca College, and made some amazing contacts (both professors and peers) that I am still making films with today. To be fair, I learned much more there than just film-making. However, I never feel like my learning is done, which is why I was happy to come across your site. The internet is such an amazing resource for filmmakers if they know where to look. Cheers to your work here!

        P.S. Yesterday, I actually looked through one of the manuals a professor put together and did find an excerpt of Pudovkin’s ‘Film Technique’ there. Whoops!

  2. Amazing work with the notes! It’s not just that the Pudovkin’s writings are visionary but you clearly bring your own insight to the material.

    Thanks!

    • Agreed. I felt I had to bring my own insight and examples from other films – because if I hadn’t been using my mind actively when reading or taking notes by thinking of what it TRULY means or what other film has used all this theory – then I wouldn’t grasp it as much as I did now. I find it’s extremely important to, when reading about cinema or some theoretical concept – to think of examples or bring in your own understanding of it. It’s the best way to learn, I think. It works for me!

      Thanks for reading and participating!

Leave a Reply

