Christopher Nolan on filmmaking – part I

nolanprofile

Here is part one of two of an in depth discussion and breakdown of how Nolan has shot the remake of Insomnia. Quite illuminating; learn and enjoy. For those who do not know, Chris is a self-taught filmmaker. You can find out more about it here. Also check out the DGA interview conducted last year which is quite illuminating as well.


ON FILMMAKING – PART I
https://vimeo.com/63420377


What benefits were there in being self-taught rather than going to film school?

A very organic approach to understanding all the different bits of the craft. I’m interested in every different bit of filmmaking because I had to do every bit of it myself—from sound recording and ADR to editing and music. I feel very lucky to be a member of probably the last generation who cut film on a Steenbeck flatbed, physically taping it together and dropping out shots. It gave me a really good grounding in knowing overall what has to go into a film technically that was very valuable. And it meant that absolutely everything I did was simply because I was passionate and wanted to try stuff. You’re never going to learn something as profoundly as when it’s purely out of curiosity.


2 thoughts on “Christopher Nolan on filmmaking – part I

  1. thanks for putting this together. I love the bit about how he forced the shots to be centered around Al’s eyeline. Plus Pacino’s tip about setting up the same scene in a variety of ways in order for the actors to find themselves.

Leave a Reply

